The Friends of the Laperouse Museum is a community organisation dedicated to the preservation of the Bicentennial Gift from the Australian French community by way of the Laperouse Museum commemorating the voyage of Jean-François de Galaup Comte de LapĂ©rouse. 
The Laperouse voyage of discovery aimed to complete the charting of the Pacific Ocean's lands commenced by Captain James Cook.

For more information about the Laperouse Museum and its contents visit

The Cable Station - La Perouse Headland Anzac Parade La Perouse

The Friends' office is located within the historic Cable Station complex that houses the Laperouse Museum. We are a key stakeholder and active member of Randwick Council's La Perouse Museum and Headland Trust - represented by our President Carol Abela.

               The Laperouse Monument                                                                       The Grave of Pere Receveur. Chaplain and Scientist

Our Patrons

The Friends are proud to have as our Patrons:

The Hon. Don Harwin MLC
NSW Minister for Resources; Minister for Energy and Utilities; Minister for the arts; Vice-President of the Executive Council

The Hon. Matt MP
Member for Kingsford-Smith

The Hon.Michael Daley MP
Member for maroubra; deputy Leader of the Opposition, Shadow Minister for Planning and Infrastructure, Shadow Minister for Gaming
and racing and Manager of Opposition Business

Her Worship the Mayor of Randwick, Ms Lyndsay Shurey

Mr Nicolas Croizer
Consul-General of France

Professor the Hon. Bob. Carr

President Carol Abela

Life Members

Our Life Members are individuals who have served on the Committee of the Friends of the Laperouse Museum
with distinction:

Professor Robert Clancy
Dr William Land AM
Dr Peter Orlovich
Mr Camille Dezarnaulds
Mr Doug Smith

2018 Committee President
Ms Carol Abela President
Mr Bernard Le Boursicot OAM Vice-President
Mr Tony Gentile  Secretary
Ms Nicky Cossar  Hon. Treasurer
General Committee:                           
Mr Charles Abela                   
Ms Priscilla Bonham Carter                  
Ms Betty De La Torre               
Mr Camille Dezarnaulds                
Ms Marie Gittard                      
Mr Ted Hayes                          
Ms Carole Roussel           
Professor Margaret Sankey          
Ms Gail Tring


The Friends of the laperouse Museum rely on their membership and volunteers being a 100 per cent voluntary community based association. Joining us is easy, simply download the Application Form!

Membership for 2018/19 are: Single $30.00 Family $50.00 Concession Single $25.00 

Follow us on FaceBook for our latest news and events.